Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

A warning to Little Monsters: not for the faint of heart.

Barneys New YorkAs a twenty-something fashion enthusiast it may go against the very essence of my generational milieu to not wet myself over lady gaga. Perhaps it’s that I’m a traditional girl. Or perhaps it’s that I arrived to my high school prom in and egg carried by Persian slaves, and I have it on good authority that she “borrowed” idea. I like her music just fine. Particularly the one I originally thought was carrie underwood, but upon learning it was lady gaga felt socially comfortable to embrace. And that swingy claw thing she does is crowd pleaser on the dance floor.  But Lady Gagas recent attack on Christmas (a term i am currently trademarking in the off chance fox news tries to use it) has put a kirsty alley-sized damper on my holiday spirit.  Barneys New York has bequeathed its winter storefront to Lady Gaga’s whim and labeled it Gagas workshop. Like Santas workshop? I’m pretty sure she’s been on Santas naughty list since she revealed her ‘tiny tots’ to Tony Bennet in a nude drawing session. Which is for charity so, you know, that makes it not creepy.

On the other hand- Barney’s typically does bizarro windows displays, this years being particularly cool and fashionable. Perhaps i revel in being a h8r, but Id rather have a window shopping experience that displays a bit more Christmas cheer, and a lot less androgyny. But for those of us who have always wondered what it would be like to wake up Christmasmorning on meth…  barney's christmas displayBarney's New York Christmas DisplayWe have Barney’s to thank for making that dream a reality.

